Novels[ edit ] The first book, Into the Land of the Unicorns , introduces Cara as the main character. The third book, Dark Whispers 63 Chapters , follows both Cara and her father as they embark on separate missions. Cara is on the hunt to uncover a story removed from the Chronicles, one that has the potential to shed light on the enmity between the unicorns and the vicious race of creatures known as the delvers. There are also a few short stories set in the mystical world of the Unicorn Chronicles. Also available are The Boy With Silver Eyes, following the story of Nils, whose father was a Hunter and who forced Nils to do something terrible that changed his life thereafter, and Guardian of Memory, in which Grimwold, keeper of the Unicorn Chronicles, is summoned to tell an important tale as part of a ceremony that occurs once every 25 years. It is the story of Alma Leonetti, and her quest to discover why something sweet and precious has disappeared from old Earth.

Author:JoJozahn Tabei
Language:English (Spanish)
Published (Last):22 July 2007
PDF File Size:18.96 Mb
ePub File Size:13.88 Mb
Price:Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]

Who would like to speak first? I have now been sober for almost ten years now Anyway, I have Bruce Coville to blame for the unicorn addiction. He hooked me with the first two Unicorn Chronicles books and then decided to take a whole decade-long break from publishing them, thus leaving Welcome to ULA——Unicorn Lovers Anonymous.

He hooked me with the first two Unicorn Chronicles books and then decided to take a whole decade-long break from publishing them, thus leaving me empty-handed and desperate. And so I found myself searching frantically for other unicorn books to fulfill my needs since I could not immediately know how the Unicorn Chronicles would end. So after sorting through the crap I had to resort to writing my own rip-off unicorn stories and drawing illustrations of unicorns——which is a bit odd for a 9-year-old kid, which is why everyone hated me in elementary school and I had no friends.

So basically, you ruined my childhood, Bruce Coville. Thanks a lot. Okay, okay. Honestly I have no idea what prevented Mr. Coville from writing the third book in this series. But still, the wait was rather cruel. But ultimately, I succumbed to the temptation. I just had to know. Firstly, ten years is a long time between books. It seemed a bit dark in comparison. Three characters died, in rather horrible ways too. Back when I read books one and two, I thought they were the best thing since sliced bread.

This book may have met my standards 9 years ago, but not quite at my current age. Was this better or worse than the first two? I thought about rereading them before getting to this one, but decided against it. Well, I can say that as far as juvenile fiction goes these are very good. Mostly what I find hard to believe is the story of how the villain, a woman ironically named Beloved, became evil. So, yeah. Just deal with it. Okay, so. He left her in the middle of the woods somewhere while he went out to shoot things.

Her dad comes back and is understandably concerned when he sees his daughter being impaled by a unicorn. He screams or something, which startles the unicorn, who rears up. How they do this But for some reason, they both die. And since a unicorn killed her father, Beloved is determined to kill all the unicorns. Luckily she has an eternity to do this, since the piece of unicorn horn in her heart gives her immortality. Yeah, so I have a couple issues with this. Its horn would have to be made out of clay or something in order for that to be physically possible.

More likely, the unicorn would have just ripped Beloved open from the chest upward This, I have more difficulty understanding. The only evidence of her being a child is that she cries pretty much all the time. But she did burst into tears quite often——which I understand, but it did get a little repetitive. This is a toughie. I might read the fourth book just to find out how it ends; this one ended on a cliffhanger, as the other two did.

These books are still entertaining and well-written, believability and main-character issues aside.


The Unicorn Chronicles: Dark Whispers 3 by Bruce Coville (2008, Hardcover)



Follow the Author



Home of author Bruce Coville



Dark Whispers


Related Articles